Create beautiful memories and relax in Bonghwa



Surrounded by splendid mountains, Bonghwa-gun has been home to classical scholars with etiquettes for thousands of years. Consisting of local administrative zones, 1 eup, and 9 myeons, the county has natural forests occupying 83 percent of its land as well as a population of about 40,000. Blessed with breathtaking natural sceneries and local specialties, Bonghwa-gun boasts of many ancient treasures -- national and local -- as well as famous mountains such as Mt. Cheongryang, which is designated as a provincial park.


The Samhan Period ~ 2018
The Samhan periodPart of Gijeoguk under the Jinhan confederacy
The Three Kingdoms PeriodToday’s entire Bongseong-myeon once belonged to Gosama-hyeon, Naegi-gun of Goguryo Kingdom
Under King Pasa, the 5th king of the Silla dynasty (80~112)Part of Silla Kingdom
Under King Gyeongdeok, the 35th king of the Silla dynasty (742~765)Renamed Okma-hyeon, Naeryeong-gun
Under King Hyeonjong, the 8th king of the Goryeo dynasty (1010~1031)Renamed Bongseong-hyeon under King Hyeonjong, the 8th king of the Goryeo dynasty
Under King Gojong, the 26th king of the Joseon dynasty (1895)Renamed Bonghwa-gun (奉化郡) in the 32nd year of the reign of King Gojong, the 26th king of the Joseon dynasty
In the first year under King Sunjong of the Joseon dynasty (1907)The county office was moved from Bongseong to Chunyang in the first year of the reign of King Sunjong (1907)
1914The county office was moved from Chunyang to 285, Naeseong-ri, Bonghwa-eup, and 15 myeons were renamed 9 myeons
1962November: Deokgu-ri and Cheonpyeong-ri in Chunyang-myeon were added to Yeongwol-gun in Gangwon Province
1963 March: The Seokpo Local Office was established to have jurisdiction over Socheon-myeon, Seokpo-ri, Daehyeon-ri, and Seungbu-ri
1973July: Soro-ri, Beopjeon-myeon was added; Duwol-ri and Naerim-ri, Sangun-myeon were added to Isan-myeon in Yeongju-gun
1979May 1: The status of Bonghwa-myeon was raised to Bonghwa-eup
1983February: Silla-ri, Myeongho-myeon was added to Sangun-myeon; the Seokpo Local Office in Socheon-myeon was upgraded to Seokpo-myeon; in October, Pojeo 2-ri, Bonghwa-eup was split into Pojeo 2-ri and 4-ri
1991January: Wondun-ri, Bongseong-myeon was renamed Bongyang-ri
1994July: Uguchi 1, 2-ri, Chunyang-meon was combined with Uguchi-ri; Goseon 1, 2-ri, Socheon-myeon, with Goseon 2-ri; Goseon 3-ri, with Goseon 1-ri; and Bukgok 1, 2-ri, Myeongho-myeon, with Bukgok-ri
2000January: Daehyeon 1, 2-ri, Seokpo-myeon was combined with Daehyeon1-ri; Daehyeon 3-ri, with Daehyeon 2-ri; Hyundong 2, 4-ri, Jaesan-myeon, with Hyeondong 2-ri; Nammyeon 1, 2-ri, with Nammyeon-ri; Galsan 1, 2-ri, with Galsan 1-ri; Galsan 3, 4-ri, with Galsan 2-ri; Sangri 1, 2-ri, with Sangri-ri; Munchon 1, 2-ri, Sangun-myeon, with Munchon-ri; and Silla 1, 2-ri, with Silla-ri
2002November: Pojeo-ri, Bonghwa-eup was renamed Naeseong-ri
2004January 12: The county office was newly built and moved from 285, Naeseong-ri, Bonghwa-eup to 537 Naeseong-ri, Bonghwa-eup
2015June: Part of Naeseong 3-ri, Bonghwa-eup was separated as Naeseong5-ri; The Doho region in Buncheon-ri, Socheon-myeon was added to Hyeondong 3-ri

WelCome to BonghwaAbout Bonghwa

This QR Code is URL of History page

This QR Code is URL of <History> page